What to do with the “Hiya” and the recycling

Living in the UK for a total of 72 hours now, has left me with two major problems. What to do with the “Hiya” and how to understand the recycling.   I will get to the “Hiya” later as it is my major concern. If I recycle properly I may only save the planet, whereas if I can understand the “Hiya” properly, I could make a new best friend.  

So wanting to be good citizens, and not to be kicked off this island for interfering with national health and safety, Herman and I looked at the council website.  (We do have neighbours, but with the internet you don’t need to talk to them anymore. Which is a pity because it limits access to new best friends.  Now, instead of being able to knock on their door and ask “Could you give me an idea of how the recycling works here?” and then getting invited in for a cup of tea and the beginning of a lifelong friendship, one resorts to looking at your own computer screen, which is something you were doing in Joburg anyway).

I am sure that with time and with a lot of practise, I will know how to recycle.  But right now, I fear “it’s going to be the death of me”. This is what I understood from looking at the website:  there are three bins – a black one, a green one and another coloured one.  (I look out the window and verify that we have three bins in our garden, they are all silver – but I can work with this. It just means I must imagine they are coloured. I can do that).  Then somewhere along the line there is also a pink bag that does something in one of these coloured bins.  And then all you have to do is separate out plastic and glass (but not paper or tins?), and general household waste (but not garden waste, garden waste goes into another bin).  Then it seems that the general household waste is collected on a weekly basis (which is what I am used to, and I can do this) but not the other things.  The other things have their special collection date, which is not weekly.  It is rather every alternate Tuesday for one bin, then every other Thursday for the other bin.  I think it is also possible that the they said something about this all changing depending on which side of the equinox you find yourself.  

So what I gather is that I have to hold on to a lot of recycling for a long time.  And what worries me about this is that our new house is so small, that if I have to hold on to the recycling for just one week, our tiny house will be full …. And not just that, I can see what is going to happen on national news if this goes wrong, “I am standing here today in front of a cottage in Lincolnshire.  The nation has been rocked by the death of an entire family, due to recycling. The Holtzhausen’s obeyed all the laws, but whereas the washer woman who lived in their 1706 cottage in the 18th century died of tuberculosis, the Holtzhausens who occupied it in 2019 all died of Listeriosis. It is suspected that the Listeriosis grew in the yoghurt cartons that they stored under the stairs while waiting for the summer solstice to occur before they could put them in a pink bag which would then go into a black bin for recycling. It took weeks to find the dead family, as with the internet being so helpful the family had not yet made contact with the neighbours, so no body even knew that they were living there”. 

But as I say, that problem is nothing compared to what to do with the “Hiya”. If you walk down the street in our new town you get “Hiya-ed” at every corner. On Wednesday of this week, I thought this was good news. I had hoped that “Hiya” was the beginning of a conversation, (and maybe a lifelong friendship). So I answered my first “Hiya’s” as politely as I could. I stopped, looked the Hiya-er in the eye, and answered solemnly,  “I am fine, thank you very much for asking, and how are you doing today?” I stopped myself from adding, “Can you help me understand recycling?” as I didn’t want to dive in too deep and get personal. But I gathered from the look of alarm I got for my “fine thank you very much for asking and how are you doing today?”,  that even that was diving in too deep.  My response was met with a blank stare of confusion and terror. “What does she want? To engage?” 

I know that one day I may feel integrated enough to reply “Hiya” to a “Hiya”, but right now if I did a “Hiya” back, not only would my children probably attack me with “Mom! Don’t say that! They will think you are mocking them! They can hear you aren’t British!” but I would also have a part of me that would would look at the other part of me that was Hiya-ing and the one part would feel embarrassed on behalf of the other part. It would be like calling myself Cathy instead of Catherine. It is simply just not what we do in our family.  

Then yesterday my confusion cleared up. I was walking past the baker who was baking his bread around the corner from our poor widow’s cottage (but in his bakery, not in the street itself).  He threw me a “Hiya” to which I unconsciously replied in “South African”.  And I realised then that I have been expecting way too much of the “Hiya” and the “Hiya” giver.  The “Hiya” doesn’t mean “How are you?”, as in “I want an answer”. It is not the British version of Namaste requesting that our inner gods see each other and that the connection could be the beginning of a lifelong friendship.

The “Hiya” is simply a “Howzit.” And it needs only to be answered by a “Howzit.” 

I mean a “Hiya”. 

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “What to do with the “Hiya” and the recycling

  1. Neil Slabbert

    Yay! A post!

    >

  2. Yvonne Morgan

    Wow – fantastic to have you in this neck of the woods! Where are you? We are in Bristol.

  3. Lindi Still

    Dear Catherine

    It was good to see the email from Strydpoort’s blog appear in my inbox! But I feel I must have missed something. The last one I received was your letter to the president in September last year . . . obviously some major decisions and changes have occurred in the intervening period. Can you tell us what happened? Your wit and enthusiasm about and for our country has been important to me, so I’m sad to know you aren’t here any longer. And the adjustments on the other side must be enormous. Hang in there and send us all more news when you can, we love to hear from you.

    Lindi

    • strydpoort

      Hi Lindi – thank you so much for checking in and replying to my blog. You are right that major decisions and changes occurred between letter to the president and the hiya. We had never planned to leave SA again, but sometimes the universe moves in mysterious ways and suddenly it can feels like all the stars are lined up in one direction. That is pretty much what happened to us since March this year. Last year, my son was in Grade 7 and moving away from SA would never have crossed my mind. Early this year, we realised that we had access again to an ancestral visa which means we could live in the UK. When we broached the idea with our children and they were enthusiastic – then everything happened very quickly. As my husband says, it felt like as soon as we touched a door, it opened for us. So here we are… I will carry on with my career here and Herman has fantastic opportunities that have opened for him in his field. I will definitely keep writing – I realise that changing contexts and cultural mingling is what brings out the muse in me! Thanks for your support and for reading. Much appreciated.

  4. Dearest Catherine,

    I missed the lead up to a clearly big move!

    I am terribly sorry to hear you are so far away… but also happy that you are back to your blogging, which I love.

    Also… I think I am in England more than I am in Joburg (not that it is often – like passing through once a year)… but it is not impossible that I might see you there one day. You are of course not just welcome but wanted here for a visit at any time that might be possible.

    What precipitated the move?

    Must run for now – working late as have a 3/4 contract for the year with UCT (which I am loving, but it may be my last run here as they are advertising ‘my’ job as a permanent position soon) and Liani now on sabbatical so the pace has picked up noticeably. (I am only at UCT this year, which is fabulous… while it lasts!).

    Much love, Julia

    Dr Julia Cain Lecturer: Film and TV studies Centre for Film and Media Studies University of Cape Town

    >

  5. Diana Pritchett

    Hiya Catherine!
    So good to be getting your blogs again. We missed them. What a surprise to hear you are now in the UK. Do hope you settle down well in spite of all the confusion! Keep writing.
    With love,
    Tim and Diana

Leave a comment